Why am I on this train?

There are always lots of events that I genuinely want to go to, places where I can present my work to a wider and engaged audience. However when it comes to actually going to an event, I usually don’t want to go.  I especially dislike having to navigate complicated train journeys in winter when it’s cold dark and horrible. So much for the modern day ‘compulsion to mobility’ (Urry, 1999, p. 1).  By the time I arrive at the destination, I’m rarely in the mood for the pre-event networking event and drinks welcomes.

So why am I writing this post? Well, I’m currently on the train to Haddenham and Thame Parkway (aka middle of nowhere/somewhere in Oxfordshire). It’s 6.30pm and my journey started at 2.45pm in Salford.  I was in work for 7am this morning. I woke up at 5am so I’ve been on the go over 12 hours now. I’m think I’m writing this post because I’m tired and I want to remind myself to be more selective about which events I attend and try to go outside of teaching time and after Ive handed in my PhD thesis.

I usually work quite well on trains and before setting off I had all the best intentions to get some good writing done. This hasn’t happened. The trains have been packed and boiling. I fell asleep from Stoke to Nottingham. Then a woman gave me a RED magazine as she was getting off so I read that instead of writing anything.

Earlier though, I did go over my slides for my joint presentation tomorrow with Ashton Pioneer Homes. Ah ha…now I remember why I’m going to the event. Actually I am going to Housing Technology 2013 for a number of reasons:
1) To present the social media work I have and currently doing with APH in a public forum
2) To find out what’s going on in the realms of housing and tech.
3) To see how housing tech & tenant engagement may develop in the future.
4) To explore how this area could benefit from media psychology research and practice.
5) To meet new people in housing outside of academic institutions.
6) To promote psychology outside of academia.
7) To gain relevant examples for my teaching practice.
8) Finally, I’m big into using social media as a solution not a problem. I’m expecting this event to be underpinned by this approach.

There’s probably more reasons but it’s time for me to get off this train! It’s been useful to jot down why I’m here so I can remind myself in the morning to enjoy my time here. I’m sure it’s going to be a fantastic and worthwhile conference.

9) Hotel is lovely, check out my room.

hotel room

10) As 10 is a good number, another reason is that attending events gives me a burst of energy & enthusiasm which keeps me and my ideas moving forward.  I have a few more missions now too.

‘There’s no place like home’ The Wizard of Oz (1939)

theres no place like home

Image courtest of Flickr user R_rose via Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 Generic

Leave a Reply

